A Book A Week- Rediscovering My Love for Books

As a kid and teen I read a lot but lately that habit has been fading away. I realized today that it’s been quite a while since I last read a book- really read, with full concentration. Instead I’ve spent my free time tweeting, sleeping and roaming around the web.

So I decided to give myself a challenge: To read at least a book every week and then blog about the book and give an amateurish review and rating here. I will also say what I learnt from the book if applicable.

Concerning the kind of books I will read I have to say I will read anything I get my hands on, from novels to history, from philosophy to religion and everything in between.

I will try to read many self-development books though, since I have been involved in many arguments in real life and on social media concerning their effectiveness. I realize that I was being unfair when I said the advice is trash without reading most of the books.

That means I will read the financial advice of Napoleon Hill, George Clason, Wallace Wattles, Bill Gates, Warren Buffett, Milton Kamwendo and others. Who knows, I may end up wealthy.

The books I really look forward to reading are those that contain lessons for life, philosophy and the ones on Africa, particularly African development, ideologies and Pan-Africanism.

In the philosophy and wisdom category I hope to read Marcus Aurelius’ The Emperor’s Handbook, The Art of Worldly Wisdom by Balthazar Gracian, Man’s Search for Meaning, The Prophet, Confucius etc.

The Africa part promises to be the most educating, as i will immerse myself in Biko, Nkrumah, Achebe, Soyinga and other works especially autobiographies and biographies of people of African origin such as Mandela, Malcolm X and Obama.

I will also read and reread any novels i get my hands on. Below are some of the books I already have which I’ll read or reread and review here:

1. Dreams from My Father- Barack Obama
2. I Write What I Like- Steve Biko
3. The Prophet – Kahlil Gabrin
4. As A Man Thinketh- James Allen
5. Beyond Religion – The Dalai Lama
6. Think and Grow Rich- Napoleon Hill
7. Man’s Search for Meaning- Victor Frankl
8. The Road Less Travelled- M. Scott Peck
9. The Emperor’s Handbook- Marcus Aurelius
10. The Art of War- Sun Tzu

11. The 48 Laws of Power- Robert Greene

12. The Prince- Nicolo Machiavelli

13. A Brief History of Time- Stephen Hawking

14. Animal Farm – George Orwell

15. The Richest Man in Babylon- George Clason

I also got quite a number of others and I hope to get more.

Any suggestions of great books is welcome, as is where to get them especially in Zimbabwe.

I hope I will be able to keep to my plans and hopefully all the books I read will improve me in innumerable ways.

Here’s to me rediscovering my love for books again and becoming the child I used to be- before Twitter, Facebook and Smartphones.

 

12 thoughts on “A Book A Week- Rediscovering My Love for Books

  1. Your taste in reading is the same as mine!! I also read arbritrary novels for fun as well as loving the serious. The problem with accessing the thousands of free books on Amazon (most of the old classics are always free there) is that you have to buy one book and pay for it via credit card before you can download the freebies, and you need a credit card for that, which most youngsters don’t have access to. You can get a pay as you go credit card from BancABC but you have to start it off with $100 I think – after that, you can take it down to zero – I often run out! We can’t use PayPal here because of American sanctions on us. You can still download the free Kindle for pc software on to your computer from Amazon without buying anything, and read any of the many books that are found as free pdf or mobi copies online. A lot of writers give away their books like that. A lot of the flea markets in Harare (the one in Avondale up on the ramp) have cheap second hand books too. I’ll send you my new one when it comes out in a few weeks too. (Mine will always be free to zimbabweans who want one). Sounds like you’re going to have a grand big reading festival!

    • Thanks for reading Jo and I hope to receive your book.
      The only good place to get the books as you said is at Avondale and I will buy a few there when I get the money. Online buying is something I won’t try because of the numerous restrictions.
      And I feel honoured that I have the same the same taste as you.
      Again thank you for reading.

      • Sorry I’m late Tawanda! It will be a pleasure to send it it you the minute it comes out. Hopefully sometime soon we can get some sort of new device so that everyone can enjoy all the books on line too. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your posts. I always enjoy them.

  2. I’d love to commend you for admitting that you were not quite right in dismissing books on finencial advice as utter rubbish. i’m glad you managed to get over your ego. It is a something very rae in today’s young people to act that way. please, do continue to inspire more of us in positive ways

  3. ever tried the likes of Seth Godin, Malcom Gladwell, Dan Pink… I v been following up on Ted speakers.

    • I haven’t, will start doing that soon though. By the way, since you’ve brought up TED speakers, I recommend Mathieu Ricard’s The Monk and the Philosopher.

      Thanks for passing by mfana, and reminding me that I have failed the challenge.

      • this morning I finished Tribes: We Need You To Lead Us by Seth Godin. inspiring read that. Before that I read Getting More by Stewart Diamond. The volume is a bit extensive, but it’s very practical. Then there is one called The Ten Commandments Of Business Failure by some former president of Coca Cola who z also a friend of Warren Buffet. Then before that some short and highly motivating book called Do the Work by some guy whose name presently escapes me… I v happily discovered the futility of trying to run out of interesting books

Leave a Reply

