Humans are Complex

I subscribe to Goodreads’ Quote of the day and everyday I receive a quote by email which is usually by an author who was born or who died on that particular day.

Because the quotes deal with so many things, from humour to death and politics, I rarely give them much thought.

Today’s quote though is so profound that I felt obligated to share it:

“Everybody has a secret world inside of them. I mean everybody. All of the people in the whole world, I mean everybody — no matter how dull and boring they are on the outside. Inside them they’ve all got unimaginable, magnificent, wonderful, stupid, amazing worlds… Not just one world. Hundreds of them. Thousands, maybe.”

-Neil Gaiman

I thought of all the people who I meet daily, in the streets, in bars, in restaurants and other places. All those featureless people, who I don’t even think about, how they seem not to have lives, dreams or aspirations.

I realised that they, like me, are complex beings. Their lives are just different, they are not boring, they are not shallow and they are not rudimentary beings.

Humans are complex, and, in Chimamanda Adichie’s words, “lives cannot be told in a single story.”

Peace.

Leave a Reply

